The short answer: DeepSeek for free chat and low API cost, Claude for documents, Office and coding agents
Go with DeepSeek if you mostly ask questions and want DeepThink reasoning and web search at no cost, or need cheap API tokens, and DeepSeek's China data location is acceptable for your material. Choose Claude if you work with documents, slides and code: its Free plan includes Docs, Slides and file creation, and Pro at $20 a month adds Claude Code and Claude in Microsoft 365. Answer quality is not established by either vendor's pages.
What was compared and how
Task: everyday individual use, meaning questions and writing, research with web sources, documents and coding, plus a short look at developer API costs. We compared the DeepSeek app on the web and mobile with Claude's Free, Pro and Max plans, and the DeepSeek API with the Claude API.
Evidence: DeepSeek's homepage, API pricing page and privacy policy, and Anthropic's Claude pricing page and Claude API pricing page, all read on October 25, 2026. This is a documentation comparison. AppFor.ai has not run both assistants on the same inputs, so nothing below is a measured quality or speed result. Consumer prices are monthly US prices; API prices are per million tokens.
Compare the same criteria
Each criterion states what each vendor documents and what it means for the task. Where a page does not say something, we write that it is not established.
- Price of the app. DeepSeek: the web and mobile chat is free and we found no paid consumer plan on its site. Claude: Free, Pro $20 a month or $17 with annual billing, Max from $100. What this means: DeepSeek costs nothing; Claude charges for more usage and extra tools.
- Reasoning and search. DeepSeek: DeepThink for step-by-step reasoning and Search for web answers. Claude: web search on all plans, Research from Pro. What this means: both offer free web search; Claude's deeper Research mode needs Pro.
- Documents and slides. DeepSeek: Docs or slide creation is not listed on the pages we read. Claude: Claude Docs, Slides and Design, artifacts and file creation with code execution on Free. What this means: for producing finished documents, Claude lists the tools on its free plan.
- Office and browser. DeepSeek: not listed. Claude: Claude in Chrome, Claude for Microsoft 365 and Claude for Outlook from Pro. What this means: Claude works inside the apps many offices use.
- Coding. DeepSeek: coding help in chat and a separate desktop agent, DeepSeek Harness, linked from its site. Claude: Claude Code from Pro, not on Free. What this means: Claude's coding agent costs $20 a month; DeepSeek's app is free.
- Privacy and data location. DeepSeek: its privacy policy says it collects, processes and stores personal data in the People's Republic of China. Claude: data location is not stated on the pricing page; Free and paid plans include incognito chats. What this means: check both policies before sharing work data; DeepSeek's data location rules it out for many employers.
- API price. DeepSeek: deepseek-flash $0.30 input on a cache miss and $1.20 output per million tokens at peak, half off-peak; deepseek-v4-pro $1.32 and $3.96 at peak. Claude: Haiku 5.5 from $0.10 and $0.50, Sonnet 5.5 $2 and $10, Opus 5.5 $4 and $20. What this means: both offer low-cost models; compare cost per finished task on your workload.
Which fits your real work?
Checking a maths or logic answer for study. DeepSeek fits on a zero budget, since DeepThink is free. Claude Free also works. Verify each step against your course material.
Turning research notes into a short report and slides. Claude fits, because Docs and Slides are on the Free plan and Pro adds Microsoft 365. DeepSeek can draft the text, but document and slide creation are not listed.
Running an internal classifier over many short texts. Either API fits a tight budget: DeepSeek's off-peak rates or Claude Haiku 5.5 for prompts up to 100,000 tokens. Run the same 100 examples through both and compare accuracy and cost.
Cost of getting the work done
Monthly consumer cost: DeepSeek app free; Claude Free, Pro $20 billed monthly, Max from $100 with 5x or 20x the usage of Pro.
API, per million tokens: deepseek-flash at peak $0.30 input on a cache miss and $1.20 output, off-peak half (peak is 01:00 to 04:00 and 06:00 to 10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday, excluding Chinese public holidays); Claude Haiku 5.5 $0.10 input and $0.50 output for prompts up to 100,000 tokens and $0.50 and $2.50 above. DeepSeek search and fetch requests cost $0.75 per 1,000, with charges for calls through Harness, Claude Code or Codex starting at 00:00 Beijing time on November 1, 2026 (17:00 CET on October 31).
Like for like, the free chat tiers both cost nothing; the difference is which tools are included. Message limits on either free tier are not established.
Try both on the same small task
Suggested comparison, not a test we have run: give both free apps the same one-page document without personal data and the prompt below, then compare the answers with the original.
- Each extracted fact appears in the document.
- Missing details are marked as not stated, not invented.
- The output follows the requested structure.
- Count the corrections you needed; one run is a signal, not a ranking.
What would change the choice
Check these conditions before you decide. For more on each product, see our DeepSeek profile and our Claude profile.
- If your employer forbids storing data in China, DeepSeek's app is likely ruled out.
- If you need finished documents or slides, Claude lists Docs and Slides on Free.
- If you only need reasoning chat and search at no cost, DeepSeek's app may be enough.
- If you are building software, test both APIs on the same examples before choosing.
Go to the source
Sources & further reading
Based on the official documentation below. Features and access can change; check the provider before making a decision.
Was this page useful?
Help us make our coverage more useful. This is feedback on the page, not a rating of the tool.
Go a little further